Control Bonsai Drive ?

Home Forums V-Control General Control Bonsai Drive ?

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    bts.av
    Participant

Hi everybody…

I’m a total noob, just discovered V-Control 2 hours ago… I read the manual, but I can’t configure how to connect the Bonsai Drive to V-Control ?

I have a USB <> RS-232 adapter… but the Bonsai Drive is working in RS-422, right ??

or is it possible using Midi connectors ?

Thanks for your help and sorry if my question seems dumb….

bts.av
    Participant

damn.. didn’t mean “I can’t configure” but “I can’t figure” … -___-‘

sspiegl
    Participant

There are no dumb questions, only dumb answers 😉

The bonsaiDrive can only be remote controlled by rs422. You need an rs232 to rs422 converter or an USB to rs422 adapter.

Sebastian

bts.av
    Participant

OK. Thanks for reply !!! (;

I got a USB <> Mini Din 9 serial , from Keyspan , the USA-28X, and a cable MiniDin 9 > Sub-d 9 Rs422… basically, it was used to control a Beta or DVCam (or else) using RS-422 on an old ProTools 6 TDM workstation…

I think it can do the trick…

in fact, I got my bonsai drive without the original remote controller… and so, I can configure it properly… can I do that with V-Control ? (access the menu, format the disk, change the settings… these things I can’t do on a BVE…)

sspiegl
    Participant

The bonsaiDrive communication protocol is available in V-Control but the Keyspan USA-28x is a MAC only adapter! (The USA-19HS is the same adapter but for Windows). V-Control runs on both systems, so if you get the adapter/driver running on a recent Mac you are good to go.

Dierk
    Participant

You can use the Bonsai Drive with a RS232 Interface, but you need a custom made control cable.

The Device Interface in V-Control (where you select the commands) has a “?” button. if you click this, a window with additional information pops up, in case of the Bonsai this one:

RS232/422 Interface Settings

Baudrate : 38400